The first midwestern state to join the recognition that we need a price on carbon is Minnesota, with legislation introduced May 2018.
Minnesota‘s Legislature considered SF 4086 and HF 4517 which would have imposed a fee, starting at $40 per ton of CO2 in 2020 to increase by $5 during the first five years. Beginning in the sixth year, it would increase by $10. Beginning in the 12th year, the fee would increase by $15. The bill is revenue neutral and would return the funds collected in the form of a rebate to individuals on a per capita basis. It did not pass.
Last updated March 8, 2020